When we made the investment in our baby’s crib mattress, we wanted to make sure that it was going to last for the 3+ years that he would sleep on it.  To me, there is nothing worse than changing my baby’s sheets and looking at urine stains that go deep within.  I am sure that I would imagine the bacteria having a field day growing there.  There have been a few things that I have done since his birth to protect the mattress and his skin.  I have also made recent changes that, to some, may seem like over kill.  You be the judge. 

While I was pregnant, I purchased a water-proof mattress pad from Baby’s R Us when.  It is around the corner from me, so I would shop around and make sure that you get a good deal.  The mattress pad was organic and so it was a little more costly than the traditional ones.  I bought a nice supply of sheets that I could use to prolong how often I would have to wash clothes.  I also bought a ‘sheet saver’ for the top of the mattress where he lies his head.  My little one is notorious for spitting up during the night and also drooling since he is teething.  The sheet saver ties onto the bed and protects the sheets and I can switch it out with another one whenever it is soiled. 

If you have read my blog, “Baby Needs Boat in Crib,” you will know that we use cloth diapers and have been subjected to night wettings.  This totally blew my sheet preservation idea.  I only had one mattress pad and so I was washing it everytime he wet the sheets.  The mattress was still intact, but I was tired of washing clothes every day.  The mattress pad was expensive and I did not want to buy another one.  It takes a bit of effort for me with the arthritis to remove the sheets, pad, and saver to wash so often.  So, I took a trip to Baby’s R Us and looked around for solutions.  I stumbled upon a water-proof mattress topper.  I believe that this was designed to take the place of the mattress pad, but I like how the mattress pad provided a comfortable cushion without compromising the firmness of the mattress.  With the water-proof pad, which was less than half of the cost, I lay it on top of the mattress pad and then put the sheets over it.  When he wets, I just remove the sheets, the pad, replace with new pad and new sheets, and put the soiled items in the laundry.  The baby does not have to sleep in my bed until the laundry is done. 

Could things be simpler for me?  Probably so.  I used disposable diapers with my first baby and did not go through this.  So, if any one out there can help me simplify our issue, that would be very appreciated.  Thanks for reading!